Local residents recognized

Yorkton News Review
September 18, 2013 01:00 AM

Forty dedicated Saskatchewan employees were recently recognized by the provincial government, on the list were two from Yorkton.

Lieutenant Governor Vaughn Solomon Schofield and Corrections and Policing Minister Christine Tell announced the names of 40 men and women for career achievements in the provincial correctional services.

"The contributions made by each of these dedicated people to help keep our communities safe, and to the rehabilitation of individuals in conflict with the law, are both admirable and important," Tell comments. "Congratulations to all the recipients - they are strong role models who deserve special recognition."

Exemplary Service Medals commemorate at least 20 years of distinguished service with the Corrections Branch of Saskatchewan Justice. Eight previous medal recipients received Exemplary Service Bars, recognizing an additional decade of service.

Saskatchewan Justice 2013 honourees are:

Edgar Ahenakew (Prince Albert), Larry Aquilon (Prince Albert), Rob Arthur (Saskatoon), John Beatty (Prince Albert), Ken Berkach (Prince Albert), Ron Bonscescu (Prince Albert), Curtis Bryshun (Saskatoon), Peggy Burke (Prince Albert), Darrell Dyck (Saskatoon), Ron Fisher (Saskatoon), Cyrel Frandsen (Prince Albert), Tracy Gulka (Yorkton), Grant Halkyard (Regina), Tami Handley (North Battleford), Don Howland (Prince Albert), Kevin Kerr (Prince Albert), Stephen Kmiech (North Battleford), Kevin Korycki (Prince Albert), Connie Lehky (Prince Albert), Gord Lupanko (Regina), Christopher Lyons (Prince Albert), Lorna Martsinskiw (Prince Albert), Barry Mayoros (Prince Albert), Mark McFadyen (Regina), Dwayne Mills (Prince Albert), Twila Mund (Yorkton), Arlene Neilson (Prince Albert), Blayne Nelson (Prince Albert), Elaine Park (Prince Albert), Lorie Ross (Prince Albert), Dawn Sinclair (Prince Albert), Gord Stiglitz (Prince Albert), Allen Stubbs (Prince Albert), Cathy Suchorab (Prince Albert), Rebecca Turner (Prince Albert), Lorne Valuck (Prince Albert), Esther Wolfe (Prince Albert) and Bernard Zimmerman (Prince Albert).

Recipients of Corrections Exemplary Service Awards must have worked for at least 10 years in a correctional institution, parole or probation office, demonstrating good conduct and displaying excellence and devotion to duty.

The awards were established in 1984 to recognize the hazardous conditions faced by peace officers working with offenders.

© Copyright Yorkton News Review


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton News Review welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Email to a Friend


Popular News Review

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.